Top Menu

AHL shifts 2020-2021 start date to February

AHLThe American Hockey League (AHL) is moving the 2020-2021 start date to February 5, as the league works to address the due to the ongoing COVID-19 public health crisis.

The move was announce by AHL President and CEO Scott Howson after the decision from the league’s Board of Governors.

The AHL continues to work with its member clubs to monitor developments and local guidelines in all 31 league cities. Further details regarding the 2020-21 American Hockey League season are still to be determined.

The ECHL is launching its 2020-2021 season in stages, with 13 teams (Allen, Florida, Greenville, Indy, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Orlando, Rapid City, South Carolina, Tulsa, Utah, Wheeling and Wichita) beginning a 72-game season on December 11. The remaining ECHL teams (save the Atlanta Gladiators, sitting out the season) will begin their season on January 15, 2021, competing in a 62-game season upon jurisdictional approval.

The SPHL has set a 2020-2021 start date for Saturday, December 26 with five teams–Birmingham Bulls, Huntsville Havoc, Knoxville Ice Bears, Macon Mayhem and Pensacola Ice Flyers–set to play an abbreviated 42-game schedule. The Evansville Thunderbolts, Fayetteville Marksmen, Peoria Rivermen, Quad City Storm and Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs will sit out the 2020-2021 season.

, , , , ,