Top Menu

NHL Affiliations: AHL and ECHL

Arena DigestBelow is our rundown of current professional hockey relationships, covering the NHL affiliations with AHL and ECHL teams. Affiliations typically turn over or are renewed between seasons, depending upon the length of agreements between the teams.

Not all affiliation lengths are disclosed by the clubs or reported by media outlets, so several NHL affiliations agreements could not be confirmed for this page. In cases in where terms have not been announced or reported, we refer to when the agreement was originally announced. Also noted are NHL-owned teams, and which NHL clubs do not currently carry ECHL affiliates.

This page will be updated as new or renewed affiliations are announced.

NHL Teams and Affiliates Affiliation Term
Anaheim Ducks
AHL: San Diego Gulls Owned by Ducks
ECHL:  Vacant
Arizona Coyotes
AHL: Tucson Roadrunners Owned by Coyotes
ECHL: Rapid City Rush Signed through 2020-21 season
Boston Bruins
AHL: Providence Bruins Signed through 2028-29 season
ECHL: Atlanta Gladiators Signed through 2019-20 season
Buffalo Sabres
AHL: Rochester Americans Owned by Sabres
ECHL: Cincinnati Cyclones Signed affiliation prior to 2017-18 season
Calgary Flames
AHL: Stockton Heat Owned by Flames
ECHL: Kansas City Mavericks Signed through 2019-20 season
Carolina Hurricanes
AHL: Charlotte Checkers Owned by Hurricanes minority owner Michael Kahn
ECHL: Greenville Swamp Rabbits Signed affiliation prior to 2019-20 season
Chicago Blackhawks
AHL: Rockford IceHogs Signed through 2021-22 season
ECHL: Indy Fuel Signed through 2021-22 season
Colorado Avalanche
AHL: Colorado Eagles Signed through 2027-2028 season
ECHL: Utah Grizzlies Agreement effective July 1 2018
Columbus Blue Jackets
AHL: Cleveland Monsters Signed multi-year extension in 2019
ECHL: Vacant
Dallas Stars
AHL: Texas Stars Owned by Stars
ECHL: Idaho Steelheads Signed through 2019-20 season
Detroit Red Wings
AHL: Grand Rapids Griffins Signed through 2021-2022 season
ECHL: Toledo Walleye Signed through 2020-21 season
Edmonton Oilers
AHL: Bakersfield Condors Owned by Oilers
ECHL: Wichita Thunder Signed through 2019-20 season
Florida Panthers
AHL: Springfield Thunderbirds Announced multi-year affiliation in 2016
ECHL: Vacant
Los Angeles Kings
AHL: Ontario Reign Owned by Kings owner AEG
ECHL: Vacant
Minnesota Wild
AHL: Iowa Wild Owned by Wild
ECHL: Allen Americans Signed affiliation prior to 2018-19 season
Montreal Canadiens
AHL: Laval Rocket Owned by Canadiens
ECHL: Vacant
Nashville Predators
AHL: Milwaukee Admirals Signed through 2021-22 season
ECHL: Florida Everblades Signed affiliation prior to 2019-20 season
New Jersey Devils
AHL: Binghamton Devils Owned by Devils
ECHL: Adirondack Thunder Signed through 2019-20
New York Islanders
AHL: Bridgeport Sound Tigers Owned by Islanders
ECHL: Worcester Railers Signed through 2019-20
New York Rangers
AHL: Hartford Wolf Pack Owned by Rangers
ECHL: Maine Mariners Signed affiliation prior to 2018-19 season
Ottawa Senators
AHL: Belleville Senators Owned by Senators
ECHL: Brampton Beast Signed affiliation prior to 2018-19 season
Philadelphia Flyers
AHL: Lehigh Valley Phantoms Originally owned by Flyers owners, affiliation has remained intact since franchise was sold in 2009
ECHL: Reading Royals Signed through 2019-20 season, with option for 2020-21
Pittsburgh Penguins
AHL: Wilkes-Barre Scranton Penguins Owned by Penguins
ECHL: Wheeling Nailers Signed through 2019-20 season
San Jose Sharks
AHL: San Jose Barracuda Owned by Sharks
ECHL: Vacant
St. Louis Blues
AHL: San Antonio Rampage Signed through 2022-23 season
ECHL: Tulsa Oilers Signed through 2019-20 season
Tampa Bay Lightning
AHL: Syracuse Crunch Signed through 2022-23 season, with mutual option for 2023-2024 and 2024-2025
ECHL: Orlando Solar Bears Signed through 2020-21 season
Toronto Maple Leafs
AHL: Toronto Marlies Owned by Maple Leafs
ECHL: Newfoundland Growlers Signed affiliation prior to 2018-19 season
Vancouver Canucks
AHL: Utica Comets Owned by Canucks
ECHL: Kalamazoo Wings Signed through 2020-21 season
Vegas Golden Knights
AHL: Chicago Wolves Signed through 2021-22 season
ECHL: Fort Wayne Komets Signed through 2019-20 season
Washington Capitals
AHL: Hershey Bears Signed through 2019-20 season
ECHL: South Carolina Stingrays Signed through 2019-20 season
Winnipeg Jets
AHL: Manitoba Moose Owned by Jets
ECHL: Jacksonville Icemen Signed for 2019-20 season

Denotes expiring NHL affiliations.  

Denotes agreements that the clubs have announced will not be renewed.