Top Menu

Providence Bruins, Boston Extend Affiliation Through 2028-29

Providence Bruins

The Providence Bruins (AHL) and Boston Bruins have inked a 10-year partnership agreement, carrying their affiliation through the 2028-29 season.

The P-Bruins have served as the American Hockey League affiliate for Boston since their inception in 1992, making the 27 consecutive season affiliation between Boston and Providence one of the longest standing player development agreements in either league’s history.

“Player development is one of the most important parts of our hockey operations strategy which has the goal of achieving long term and sustainable success,” said Bruins President Cam Neely. “Our partnership with the Providence Bruins has been a key part of our player development over the past three decades and we are very happy to have a long-term deal solidifying this relationship for 10 more years.”

“We are excited to be partnering with the Boston Bruins and RI Convention Center Authority for another 10 seasons of Providence Bruins hockey in Rhode Island,” said Providence Bruins team owner H. Larue Renfroe. “I want to thank the Boston Bruins, the RICCA and the American Hockey League, as well as our devoted fans and corporate partners.”

“The Providence Bruins are a top franchise in the AHL. Community engagement, attendance success, competitive excellence, and player development for the NHL are the pillars on which AHL success is measured,” said David Andrews, President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Hockey League. “Congratulations to the Providence Bruins and the Boston Bruins on extending their long-standing partnership.”

With the P-Bruins serving as the primary pipeline for Boston, more than 200 players that have spent time with Providence have played for the big club as well. Current players in the organization that have played at least one game for both Providence and Boston include: Noel Acciari, Patrice Bergeron, Anders Bjork, Anton Blidh, Paul Carey, Brandon Carlo, Peter Cehlarik, Connor Clifton, Jake DeBrusk, Jakob Forsbacka Karlsson, Trent Frederic, Matt Grzelcyk, Danton Heinen, Steven Kampfer, David Krejci, Torey Krug, Karson Kuhlman, Sean Kuraly, Jeremy Lauzon, Brad Marchand, Charlie McAvoy, Zane McIntyre, Kevan Miller, David Pastrnak, Tuukka Rask, Gemel Smith, Lee Stempniak, Jordan Szwarz, Urho Vaakanainen and Jakub Zboril.

You can view the current NHL affiliations status here.

, , , ,