Top Menu

ECHL Divisional Realignments Unveiled for 2016-2017

ECHLWe’ll have new ECHL divisional realignments for the 2016-2017 season, as six divisions will be reduced to four; other league changes include a new divisional format for the first two rounds of the Kelly Cup Playoffs

In the Eastern Conference, the East Division is going away, and in the Western Conference, the Midwest Division is going away. The teams formerly in those divisions are being distributed in the remaining two divisions, leading to the following alignments:

Eastern Conference

North Division
Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Elmira Jackals, Manchester Monarchs, Reading Royals, Wheeling Nailers

South Division
Atlanta Gladiators, Cincinnati Cyclones, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Norfolk Admirals, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Central Division
Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings, Quad City Mallards, Toledo Walleye, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

Mountain Division
Alaska Aces, Allen Americans, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Missouri Mavericks, Rapid City Rush, Utah Grizzlies

The first two rounds of the Kelly Cup Playoffs will be played entirely within the division, with the division winner playing the fourth-place finisher and the second-place team meeting the third-place team in the Division Semifinals. The winners of each series will meet in the Division Finals, leading to the Conference Finals and Kelly Cup Finals.

The new format will allow most teams to have a better chance of playing traditional rivals in the first two rounds of the playoffs, and to allow for more economical travel.

, ,