Top Menu

AHL 2016-2017 Alignment Announced

AHL 2016-2017 Alignment

With the addition of the Tucson Roadrunners and the Springfield Thunderbirds for the coming season, we saw the announcement today of the AHL 2016-2017 alignment, with two conferences hosting 15 teams.

There were some slight changes in the AHL 2016-2017 alignment. The Portland Pirates shift to Springfield didn’t result in any divisional changes, as the Thunderbirds will remain in the Eastern Conference’s Atlantic Division. However, the Atlantic Division will shrink from eight to seven teams, as the Tucson Roadrunners (the former Springfield Falcons) were placed in the Western Conference’s Pacific Division. That puts the Pacific Division at eight teams, compared to seven for this past season. The North and Central divisions remain unchanged.

Otherwise, there was little else of note at the AHL Board of Governors meetings at Hilton Head Island, S.C. that ended today. The 2016-17 regular season will consist of 1,116 games, played between Oct. 12 and Apr. 16. All teams will play 76 games each with the exception Bakersfield, Ontario, San Diego, San Jose, Stockton and Tucson, who will play 68 games each. Teams will wear light jerseys at home until the Christmas break, and dark jerseys at home after the Christmas break. And there will be stiffer penalties for fighting.

RELATED STORIES: Moves to the West a Success for AHL; NHL Expansion Also Means Potential AHL Expansion; Tucson AHL Team Approved for Downtown Convention Center; Tucson Arena Improvements Funded for Potential AHL Team; Potential AHL Changes on Tap for Coming Seasons

, , , ,